Faculty

Shlomi Dinar, Associate Professor

Associate Director, School of International and Public Affairs
International Relations
Area of Specialization: Middle East and International Affairs
Email: Shlomi.Dinar@fiu.edu
Phone: 305-919-4839

Annette Fromm, Assistant Professor

Coordinator of the Museum Studies Program
Area of Specialization: Sephardim, Jewish material culture, Jewish food history Email: Annette.Fromm@fiu.edu
Phone: 305-348-6086

Nathan Katz, SIPA Distinguished Professor, Bhagawan Mahavir Professor of Jain Studies

Academic Director of the Jewish Museum of Florida-FIU
Area of Specialization: Jews of India, Comparative Religions
Email: Nathan.Katz@fiu.edu
Phone: 305-348-3909

Erik Larson, Associate Professor

Chair, Department of Religious Studies
Area of Specialization: Dead Sea Scrolls, Rabbinic Judaism, Hebrew, Aramaic, Greek, Arabic
Email: Erik.Larson@fiu.edu
Phone: 305-348-3518

Abraham Lavender

Sociology/Anthropology
Email: Abraham.Lavender@fiu.edu
Phone: 305-919-2247

Asher Z. Milbauer, Professor

Director of Graduate Studies in Literature
Director of the Exile Studies Program
Area of Specialization: American Jewish literature, Yiddish literature, Holocaust literature
Email: Asher.Milbauer@fiu.edu
Phone: 305-348-2259

Tudor Parfitt, President Yitzhak Navon Professor of Sephardic-Mizrahi Studies and Distinguished Professor of SIPA

Areas of Specialization: The periphery of the Jewish world, Judaising movements, the myth of the Lost Tribes of Israel, Genetic discourses about Jews, Modern Hebrew Literature, Hebrew language, Muslim-Jewish Relations, the Jews of the Yemen, Jews of the Muslim world, the Sepharadi World, Conversos, Black Jews in Africa and the Americas.
Email: Tudor.Parfitt@fiu.edu

Neil Reisner

Journalism and Mass Communication
Area of Specialization: Jewish Journalism
Email: neil.reisner@fiu.edu
Phone: 305-919-5677

Meri-Jane Rochelson, Professor

Associate Chair of English
Area of Specialization: American and British Jewish literature
Email: Meri-Jane.Rochelson@fiu.edu
Phone: 305-919-5922

Oren Stier, Associate Professor

Director of the Jewish Studies Certificate Program
Area of Specialization: Jewish religion and culture
Email: Oren.Stier@fiu.edu
Phone: 305-348-6729

Rhona Trauvitch

Rhona Trauvitch, Instructor